What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne [Book Review]

What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne (The Spinster Club #3)

Release Date: August 1, 2016

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Feminisim


HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender

2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)

3. Always try to keep it funny

4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

โ€œI would like to thank Usbourne Publishing for sending me an Advance Reader’s Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.โ€

This is the last book for the spinster club series. *sobs

 

So this one is really over due. I was hard getting used to the life of an adult. Where everyday I worked and sleep when I got home. I never had the chance to read books again until now.

 

What’s a Girl Gotta Do? is the book about Lottie’s adventures with the Spinster Club and her two best friends – Evie and Amber on their fight against Sexism. Lottie created a group of Spinster club in their college and a month long project calling out every sexist thing they see. Personally this one is hard. You call them out they get mad at you because they know you’re right. A lot of courage must be involved if you want to have a project like Lottie did.

 

This is a funny book yet very educational about how the world needs gender equality issues to be fixed. They said it is only for men or women when the truth is both genders can have it. Friendship is also there. Getting stronger! I love those three! The part that I really loved was when Lottie called out to a man that was sitting with his legs spread across the couch. I noticed men do this a lot of times when I’m on a train or Jeep (cab). Their legs took space and women beside them feel uncomfortable. I know it’s a public transportation but we all pay the same. They should mind their actions. I really wanted to tell them but sadly I don’t have that much courage. But I’m planning on it. To be able to speak up and not just sit around.

 

This trilogy is an eye opener to me. To what was really happening in the world today. The ripples this book did hit me. Maybe one of these days I could pass the ripples off too.

FAVORITE LINES

I decided after yesterday’s horribleness that I wasn’t so much all the sexual harrassment that bothered me. It was the fact that I didn’t stand up for myself.

It wasn’t a compliment. I said. It was sexual harrassment. I should be allowed to walk down a road without some men I don’t know letting me know whether the find me attractive or not. I should be allowed to wear whatever I want and walk wherever I want without being threatened or objectified, or even bothered.

But if there’s something not right in the world, you have to fight. Otherwise, what? You’re just saying it’s okay that this happens.

I am capable of paying a bill. I said. My vagina doesn’t prohibit me from paying for my own dough balls.

There is no going back – not once you’ve raised the veil, not once you’ve opened your eyes. You can’t stuff it all back in a box, not once you’ve seen it. You can’t pretend it’s not there.


 

Follow Holly Bourne     What’s A Girl Gotta Do?

goodreads      goodreads

Leave a Reply

