Cogheart by Peter Bunzel [Book Review]

 Cogheart by Peter Bunzel (The Cogheart Adventures #1)

Release Date: September 1, 2017

Genre: Fantasy | Middle Grade | Steampunk


Some secrets change the world in a heartbeat. . . .

Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her?

With her friends—Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox—Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realizes that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart. . . .

Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.

*ARC is provided by Usbourne Publishing. Thank you so much!

I now know why Cogheart was Usbourne’s anticipated release of 2016. It says to captivate the audience ages 9-12 with their parents. I am not a parent nor a kid i guess I’m a mechanical (LOL). I am an adult (but i look like a kid) and I was hooked up to every page of this children’s book. But seriously when at work I was eager to come home so I can read it while standing  or sitting in a crowded train or jeep. That on particular night (March 27) when I can’t sleep I picked it up seeing I was half way through the book. I was so immersed that I didn’t noticed that it was already 4:00 AM. I said to myself “JUST ONE MORE CHAPTER” because I had 30 pages left and yeah I had to go to office for the morning so I stopped the urge to finish it that time. Every page makes me anticipate the next one, although hard for me to imagine how those zeplin and cogs really look like I did enjoyed reading every single one of them.

Lily, Robert and Malkin’s adventure is surely fun. I was grateful I didn’t read it immediatley because right now as of writing I’m excited to read “Moonlocket” (I’ll show the cover at the end of the review). I don’t have to wait longer 😛 This time this is about Robert. I really wished there are more visuals of John’s mechs. I was on a reading slump for a year and this book made me want to read more Middle Grade books again. For my favorite lines, you’ll know the lessons Cogheart wants us to have.

 

Favorite lines

In her opinion it was better to read books than balance them. That’s what they were designed for, after all. And if you wanted to wear something on your head there was a perfectly good item designed for that too: it was called a hat.

– I can imagine Lily saying this with a sarcastic expression too. Her passion for books is seen because she applied it to herself. (Penny dreadfuls! HAHA)

No one conquers fear easily, Robert. It takes a brave heart to win great battles.

– Easy to say but hard to do. But you can do it because you have a brave heart. You just need a head start and everything will follow.

“Feelings and intuition, love and compassion, those are the things that make a soul, not blood and bones or machine parts.”  He ruffled his son’s hair with a calloused hand. “The soul’s a matter of the heart, Robert and the heart’s a mystery even the greatest scientist don’t understand.”

– The heart is always a mystery to us. ALWAYS.

Broken clocks could always be fixed, but broken hearts were a harder thing to save.

-Everyone knows this. The heart is always complicated.

It looks complicated when you see all the separate pieces, but the purpose of the music box is to play joyful music. You just have to remember how to fit them to gather so it will. The same with life really. It’s just about living of it. That’s all you have, and all you can do: Live and be happy.

-No words for this. *teary eyes


Follow Peter Bunzel     Cogheart

goodreadsgoodreads

 

So as I mentioned earlier, I’ll show you the cover of Moonlocket. It’s also animated liked cogheart.

2 thoughts on “Cogheart by Peter Bunzel [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

