The Dreamer(The Dreamland Series #1) by E.J Mellow [Book Review]

30633674The Dreamer(The Dreamland Series #1) by E.J Mellow

Release Date: June 2016 (First published: May 14,2015)

Genre: New Adult | Fantasy | Romance


Molly hasn’t slept well since the night of her twenty-fourth birthday. Being struck by lightning might have something to do with it, but then again, her chicken did look a little undercooked at dinner. Whatever the culprit, her life quickly catapults from mundane to insane as, night after night, Molly is transported through her once dreamless sleep to a mysterious land illuminated by shooting stars.

There she meets the captivating but frustrating Dev, and together they discover Molly possesses a power coveted by his people—the ability to conjure almost anything she desires into existence. Seduced by the possibilities of this gift, Molly shifts her attention from waking life toward the man, the magic, and the world found in her dreams.

But Molly must ask herself—does something truly exist if you only see it when you close your eyes?

Faced with the threat of losing everything—her job, best friend, boyfriend, and most importantly, that little thing called her sanity—Molly will learn just how far she’ll go to uncover what is real and what is merely a figment of her imagination.

“I would like to thank E.J Mellow for sending me a Finished Copy of this book.My review is not influenced by this.”

 

This novel is about a girl that has been struck by lightning on her birthday. After that she’s been getting bizarre dreams that turns out to be real. HOW LUCKY COULD YOU GET?!

I always have first times for books. This is the very first book that I’ve read about dreams. It really piqued my interest. Plus not to mention this is a New Adult Contemporary without any intense sexual scenes (not very detailed like the usual NA) so it’s a plus for me.The pacing of scenes is good, it’s not too fast nor slow. i love how each chapter takes place that makes me say “ONE MORE CHAPTER!”.

So for the characters:

  • Molly – a girl who hates being normal. She’s been searching for that one Thing that can make her life different. That is good because you want something that can make your life more lively than the mundane one. Waking up with something different everyday motivates you to do more. Molly is a fighter and I mean it. But when it comes to the matters of the heart, she is little bit off.
  • Dev – Oh my, I WANTED OT HAVE MY OWN DEV! He’s so handsome, a body to die for, smart and sweet. He’s cheeky but in a romantic way. I can’t explain it. I just smile and roll in my bed when he says something sweet to Molly ❤ ❤ ❤ He’s very protective when it comes to his family and friends. A loyal one not only to his Nocturna duty but also to the one he loves.
  • Becca – Molly’s bestfriend. One of the #BestfriendGoals I might say. She’s going to stick up with you and be goofy when you’re sad. It’s hard to find a Becca now a days and Molly is really lucky to have her!

Before i forgot, I imagine Molly as E. J Mellow. I don’t know wht but it feels like it is really her. For Dev, I imagine Ian Somerhalder. >_<

 

FAVORITE LINES

“Isn’t obvious?” He gestures with his hands, show casing his body. “I’m the man of your dreams.”

So, I keep my eyes open, watching for that thing that can unblock what I’m searching for and lead me to where I’m meant to be.

I know the only reason she’s single is because she wants to be.

But the more I convince myself that it wasn’t real, the sadder I feel inside.

“My life will never be the same either.” I say breathlessly, and I know it’s the truth. How can it ever go back to the way it was? And if I were being honest with myself, I would never want to.

Why do those words hurt me? I’m not supposed to care about him. But the heart is a notorious rule breaker and logic its worst enemy.

“If you loved him, you would have easily said it.” That’s good for me to know.


rating5 v3

Follow E.J Mellow     The Dreamer

goodreads      goodreads

Here’s my review for the other books of the series. Keep an eye out for one more review left (The Divide)

Wordpress-iconWordpress-icon

2 thoughts on “The Dreamer(The Dreamland Series #1) by E.J Mellow [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

