Cruel Heart Broken by Emma Haughton [Book Review]

Cruel Heart Broken by Emma Haughton

Release Date: November 1, 2016

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Thriller


Laurie is a good girl – so everyone thinks. But seven months ago she did something that she can’t undo and it’s tearing her apart.

Charlie used to be her best friend. He’s done something he regrets too…and now someone has died.

Two impulsive decisions. Two toxic secrets. Too many hearts broken. Partly inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching novel about impulsive mistakes, and their devastating consequences.

“I would like to thank Usbourne Publishing for sending me an Finished Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”

The first few pages really ticked my curiosity that had me wanting to read it when I’m on my to work or home. The plot twists are unpredictable for me not until I spoiled myself and peeked at the very end of the book. *sucks

For the characters I think that was a usual type of character relationship. But the profession of Lee’s mother and father is awesome sauce the drawback was that they didn’t noticed anything. The pacing of the story is not fast nor too slow. It all unfolded in time. I often come to conclusions during different scenes and I never got a correct bit of it. That made me love it despite the common plot that Cruel Heart Broken was. One thing i loved about it is that although this is a common thing today, Emma showed us the other side of it. The side where we think we did the wrong thing while in the eyes of other people it was the good one.

The mystery element was really there until the last page. I really wanted to know what happened next. It was like there’s no closure. But after pondering it for a couple of hours, I came to a conclusion that the ending it got was okay. It all ended well even though tension is still lingering at the atmosphere.
In every book I read and review, I always include the values that i learned from it. I guess it is the way that I will always review. For me that was the purpose of every book written. To teach us something that we cannot experience personally in our everyday lives.

* Importance of decision making – one choice/decision will always affect not just the present and near future but it will always linger in your life and for the generations to come.

*Friendship – every book I read #FriendshipGoals will always be there. I really wish I had those too. Friends are gold if you really sought for them.
*Family bond – they’ll be always with you no matter what.

*Love – it will be always in the name of love. Love makes us blind not totally but partially if we don’t look very well.
This was a good read. Hoping to more adventures and books with Emma Haughton!

FAVORITE LINES

I probably would. I’d probably torture myself, wondering if there was anything I could have said or done that might have made a difference. Feeling guilty over any argument, any word.

We’ve all done things we’re not proud of.

Ending my pain would only be the start of theirs.

I imagine what it would be like, waking up every day to the knowledge of what you’ve done. Having to keep it secret, locking it inside while trying on the outside to look like someone who’s not being eaten hollow by guilt.

But one thing was clear – telling them would only make their lives harder.


Follow Emma Haughton  Cruel Heart Broken

goodreads      goodreads

Leave a Reply

