Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne [BookReview]

 Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne (The Spinster Club #1)

Release Date: August 1, 2015

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Feminisim


All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

This is my very first Holly Bourne novel. A very different read for me. Why? It’s a feminist book and also this book is an eye opener for me. What OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) really is. I encountered the word or acronym first on Instagram.  On what I understood about OCD back then is that a person is just so freakingly organized and clean about her things. She doesn’t want a thing being different. It must be in uniform. But what I know was only partly true. AINY has the following points. Shows us how difficult is the struggle of a person with OCD. How badly they want to be just like everybody else. People use the term OCD lightly and yes that’s bloody offensive.

  • Friendship – What friendship looks like in reality. Issues are present. There’s no pretense. I love that! Friends no matter what happens will always be there for you. Good and bad times. If you had real friends, keep them. Don’t shut them out of your life when something goes wrong.
  • Family – Our siblings may be quiet but when you’re in trouble or not, I bet you they really do care for you. They love you too bits. Me and my 3 brothers weren’t really close but as we grow up I was getting fond and more protective towards them. Also parents usually do the “Tough Love” to their offsprings. Love makes us blind said Dumbledore to Harry. Parents just have to see who their kids are and not for what they wanted to see.
  • Feminism – I still don’t get this one. but it is for sure for equality. Well maybe being a female is not easy as the world sees it. Everything must be balanced and the men needs the women after all. I guess I have to learn how feminism works. 🙂

The humor, wittiness is always present in this book. Also who could forget about the romance? I was annoyed by Guy and there’s the other 2 guys. >_< I just hate how negative Evie thinks but yes it is her struggle and i know it is really hard to have OCD. This novel is fiction but real world issues was voice out and it was a job well done!

FAVORITE LINES

Everyone’s on the cliff edge of normal. Everyone finds life an utter nightmare sometimes, and there’s no normal way of dealing with it. There’s no normal Evelyn. There’s only what’s normal to you. You’re chasing a ghost.

It shouldn’t be hard, you know? Love? It shouldn’t be games and unknowing and waiting for calls.

Was it mental to want someone to love you?

Because despite all you’ve been through, you’re still good and kind. You’re not bitter. Well you are but only at yourself. You may feel broken, but you don’t break others.

I hate fake modesty. If you know you’re great, say you’re great.


Follow Holly Bourne     Am I Normal Yet?

goodreads      goodreads

Reviews for the other books in the series

Wordpress-icon

One thought on “Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne [BookReview]

Leave a Reply

