Emerge by Tobie Easton [Book Review]

Emerge_1800x2700-683x1024Emerge by Tobie Easton

Release Date: April 19, 2016

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Mermaids


synopsis

Lia Nautilus may be a Mermaid but she’s never lived in the ocean. War has ravaged the seven seas ever since the infamous Little Mermaid unleashed a curse that stripped Mer of their immortality. Lia has grown up in a secret community of land-dwelling Mer hidden among Malibu’s seaside mansions. Her biggest problems are surviving P.E. and keeping her feelings for Clay Ericson in check. Sure, he’s gorgeous in that cocky, leather jacket sort of way and makes her feel like there’s a school of fish swimming in her stomach, but getting involved with a human could put Lia’s entire community at risk.

So it’s for the best that he’s dating that new girl, right? That is, until Lia finds out she isn’t the only one at school keeping a potentially deadly secret. And this new girl? Her eyes are dead set on Clay, who doesn’t realize the danger he’s in. If Lia hopes to save him, she’ll have to get closer to Clay. Lia’s parents would totally flip if they found out she was falling for a human boy, but the more time she spends with him, the harder it is for her to deny her feelings. After making a horrible mistake, Lia will risk everything to stop Clay from falling in love with the wrong girl.

review

“I would like to thank Month9books, LLC for sending me a Review Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”


 

There are so many takes on fairy tale retelling. I tried Emerge. The plot hooked up with me since showing  up on my email that day. What made me go on and read this is because it’s a retelling of Little Mermaid. Ariel is my most favorite Disney Princess. I’ve been attracted to Mermaids since. ❤ ❤ ❤

Emerge focuses on how Mermaids and Mermen try to live in land avoiding the war under the sea. Lia is struggling to be human while suppressing her feelings that can endanger them all.

I read Emerge for just a day. I read at that pace when the first chapter really hooked me. I slept late at night to finish this.

For the character’s evaluation:

  • Aurelia – known as Lia. She is the girl/mermaid that will do anything to stop the one she loves from falling in love with the wrong sort. One of those good girls and scared to disappoint her parents. But for love? SCRATCH THAT, she can do everything. She will brave the consequences o doing the wrong choice for the right reason.
  • Caspian – Lia’s best friends. He’s a loyal one and I can add him to one of my starting to bloom list of #FriendshipGoals. He’s smart and a handsome guy/merman. I wanted him for Lia seriously. >_<
  • Clay – He is Lia’s dream guy. The one she loves. Basically Clay is one of those guys that can be your friend and boyfriend at the same time. #RelationshipGoals. Hahaha. What I love about Clay is he plays the guitar. I’m reminded of someone because of that.

For the plot, it is not fast paced and not to slow. Every time I finish a chapter I always say “ONE MORE” until I’m almost at the middle of the book. I like the pacing and how the story unfolds. The retelling is awesome. That is what I love the most. After reading I wondered if there would be more. Because yes I want more stories of the other characters. I was at lost when I ended reading Emerge. Please everyone try this. This is one good retelling I might say. 🙂

 

FAVORITE LINES ❤ (My favorite part of my reviews actually)

I know I have no claim on him, but it was much easier ignoring my feelings when I didn’t have to watch him so fixated on someone else.

But isn’t a waste of time to out in so much energy – to such heartbreak – for something that could never last? That’s what I’ve always told myself.

Sometimes, you learn the most about a person from what they don’t say.

Look, Lia, there’s a difference between being moody and being a jerk. If a guy doesn’t treat you right, he doesn’t deserve you.

I guess I’m just waiting for that heart-pounding, music-swelling, shooting star moment… and I don’t think I’ll find it until it’s the right person leaning in.

Leaving him was the hardest thing I’ll ever do, and I did it because I do care.


rating5 v3

Follow Tobi Easton    Emerge

          

Leave a Reply

