A Valentine Secret by Emily Murdoch [Book Review]

A Valentine SecretA Valentine Secret by Emily Murdoch

Release Date: January 22, 2016

Genre: Romance


synopsis

The course of true love never did run smooth

Jonathan Brodie, the only son of Sir Roger and Lady Brodie, has lived in the village of Maplebridge his whole life.

Penelope, the daughter of the local florist, was adopted by the Baldwins when she was just a baby.

They could not be more different and yet, one blustery January morning, their paths collide in a chance encounter that is destined to change their lives forever.

Jonathan soon discovers that Penelope is far from the quiet wallflower that she first seems, but rather a beautiful rose just waiting for its chance to bloom. After spending more and more time together, it’s not long before their feelings for each other begin to blossom.

However, when Jonathan starts investigating Penelope’s past, in order to present her with the truth about her biological parents, his grand Valentines gesture threatens to destroy any hope of a future with the woman he has grown to love.

Penelope begins to doubt Jonathan’s motives.

Is he only concerned with placating his domineering father and convincing him that she is worthy of the Brodie name?

Despite his good intentions, will Jonathan’s Valentine Secret ruin everything?

Or are two people from opposite ends of society simply destined to remain poles apart forever?

A Valentine Secret is a charming regency romance novella about never giving up on true love.

review

“I would like to thank Emily Murdoch for sending me a Review Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”


 

In novels it’s rarely that the guy falls head over heels first. The type of having love at first sight. But in this novel, Jonathan Brodie is one of those types. The story is short but the events that takes place happens and falls into place at the right times. The flow is so smooth. While reading, I imagined Penelope Dryden as Mary Bennet from Pride and Prejudice movie of 1005 and Jonathan as Finnick Odair from The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Jonathan Brodie is a man swooned by Penelope Dryden. He’s the typical only son of a snooty but a kind hearted Baron but he’s like his father minus the snooty attitude. He loves not based on a womans status in life. His intentions are clean but he can’t express himself well.

On the other hand Penelope Dryden is an introvert. I personally love her character and I feel like her to be honest. The want to be just in the background, sit in a corner, stay home instead of attending parties and prefer letters over flowers. Receiving letters are quiteful more charming than those typical flowers that men gives to women. I suddenly remembered a past lover of mine who writes letters to me during our monthly celebration of the day we got together and every anniversary that we had. Short letters, sometimes long but it appeals more to the heart. Sincere and pure love is seen more clearly. Whenever I read those letters all over again, I still cry. Yeah I lost him. But he was the best thing that’s ever been mine. ❤ 🙂

This book is unpredictable to the end for me. I don’t know if they’ll end up or not. Jonathan is so sweet and I love the personality of Penelope.. When I reached the end, a smile was plastered in my lips and I can’t help but wonder too. I know you’re thinking its a happy ending. Yes it is, but I really really love how it ended. ❤


rating_5s

Follow Emily Murdoch      A Valentine Secret

      

 

Leave a Reply

