New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson [Book Review]

10661059_457678267761107_461826643_nNew World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson

Date Published: August 14, 2014 and re published on January 5, 2015 by Oftomes Publishing.

Genre: Young Adult | Dystopia | Romance


synopsis

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus  is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

review

“I would like to thank Jennifer Wilson for sending me a Review Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”


New World: Rising is set on a world where humanity has been divided into two places:

  • The Sanctuary
  • Tartarus

When I first read the book it has the familiarity of the movie Elysium. People that are also divided and placed into two different places.

 

  • Did I like this book?

A totally big and long YEEEEESSSSS!!! *ahem. You know people I’ve always mentioned to you that I have a pet peeve when it comes to strong and brave women in books, a character that is a bookworm is a plus too!

 

  • Why or Why not?

Like the one mentioned above, I like those women that proves that they’re not your average damsel in distress. I love it how Phoenix has those instincts of survival, being observant. The book is so action packed and every detail is so good that I can imagine it well in my mind. Then I had nightmares after reading a chapter that involves killing. I’m a person who avoids bloody or spooky in all ways possible because nightmares always comes next. But reading this book made me forget that! The action and fast pace of scenes really caught my attention. I’ve been telling the guys at home about this book and they said its awesome and asked me if it is a movie, I sadly responded no 😦 . But it made me think this would be a good one. Guys loves actions like this!

 

  • What was the best part of the book?

12338762_955952927786471_2041498371_nAll of it! See the tabs? There are many favorite lines and  scenes within! hmmm. But my favorite part is in Chapter 14 entitled “Selfish”. For the love of those who’ll be reading it, I won’t make mention my fave part. It’ll be a spoiler for sure. Just like my previous 2 book review posts. So I wanted to keep things spoiler free as possible.

*Hint: Romance

Sorry! I can’t help it! (/ >_____<)/

 

 

  • Would you recommend it to friends?

Yes! If you like dystopian genres in the YA Section this is one of the good reads. Be prepared for the intense action Phoenix will give you. Plot twists that you won’t see coming your way.

 

Here’s my treat my top 3 favorite lines! Its in random arrangement okay?

 I had never seen anyone like you. You are utterly captivating, But we weren’t fast enough. At first I thought we were too late that I would never get to meet the girl who had so quickly stolen my heart , but then you woke up.

First I stopped by the romance section – business first then pleasure. These were my least favorite kind of book. People fell into whirlwind romance, swept up with sex and passion.  I didn’t believe in love, it was a wasted emotion that could get you killed. People did foolish things in the name of love.

The books here provided an escape, a place to let my mind wander free and find friends. Not real friends, but friends I could care about without having to commit to. Once I had opened a book and read its pages, Those characters could never be taken away from me. Even if the books were burned, they would still live on my mind, They couldn’t die or betray you, friends on paper proved much more lucrative than real ones.

Hope these lines will make your read it! 😀

 

Blimey, I’ve been hung up on this book before going to the sequel. I rate this book:


rating_5s

Follow Jennifer Wilson      New World: Rising

      

 

 

Leave a Reply

