Somewhere in Between by Katie Li [Book Review]

cover Somewhere In Between by Katie Li

Released Date: August 15, 2015 (1st) and August 25, 2015 (2nd)

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Coming of Age

Photo by: Yours truly 🙂


synopsis

Two friends find a portal to another dimension and use this “in-between place” to avoid the stress of their everyday lives. What they don’t realize is that every time they enter, they alter reality.

Pseudo-punk Magnolia and underachieving gamer-geek Rom are two unlikely friends who only hang out during their walks home together after school. When they find the a portal that leads to different worlds, they use the “in-between place” as an escape from their lives in high school, then later, after college.

Their visits through the portal bring them teetering along a tight-rope of fantasy and reality, where they don’t always believe what is in front of them, not even their feelings for each other.

The book is about changes—the ones that you can control, and the ones that you can’t. It’s about commitment and friendship. It’s about the stages in between where you have nothing but the unknown ahead of you.

Inspired by the work of Haruki Murakami and films like Eternal Sunshine of A Spotless Mind, Somewhere In Between is metaphysical coming-of-age story about defining love and finding yourself.

review“I would like to thank Katie Li for sending me a Review Copy of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”


The synopsis made me want to take a leap of faith and request this book for a review. Fate has bestowed ,e the luck I needed and taaaadaaahhh!! I have the book finally in my hands!

I really loved the plot. Many of you including me wanted our own in-between place like Magnolia and Rom had. I imagined the in-between place to be a world wherein you won’t worry about everything. All the things that you loved would be there and absolute freedom. I got all of those correct but in another way. Everything in the book has its hidden meaning waiting to be discovered by you.

I just can’t believe that Magnolia and Rom would be happy with the in-between place that much. It simply tells us that everyone has their OWN MEANING OF HAPPINESS AND CONTENTMENT. Some may be happy and contented with simple things and others in grandeur that life could offer to them.

Rom values his friendship towards Magnolia. He showed how True Love really is. Also he made us realize that not all the opportunities we have can make us happy. Some imprisons and keeps us away from the things that can make us really and genuinely happy.

With regards to our heroine Magnolia’s attitude, many people out there are like her. Dressing us and pretending to be someone they’re not. Behind those smiles lies a lonely heart. That’s how the pressure of the world deceives us. In the long run we’re getting farther on who we really are. By the time you realize it, you won’t even know yourself.

Many teens are going astray from their parents care. Some are going out of reach because they thought that they’re a slave of their parents and others can’t handle the fondness their parents shows to them. That’s why some siblings or children grow apart.

Here are some of my favorite lines!

I’m sorry I’m not the person you want me to be. I can’t give you what you want. I never could. – Rom

Magnolia had told herself that they didn’t need much – except each other.

He told her things like, I was a mess before I met you. Or if you weren’t here, I would be broken. Then he would hug her close, and everything felt like it would be okay.

“Don’t  you – of all people – think I should keep this? Treasure it forever?” “No.” she says. “Not if it is making you miserable.” – Rom and Magnolia

How she would worry about him – how she pleaded with him. It never really got him to stop. And even once he stopped, he didn’t really change.

Because when things change, they become easier to forget about. It makes me feel like that could happen to me. I don’t ever want to be forgotten. – Magnolia

What really pulled me down was the flow of the story. I don’t know if I’m in the past, present or future. They’re inside the in-between place when the text format changes. They’re out if the letters are in bold style. Changing of POV is confusing. I wished that when the POV is changing it could be better if a name will be on top with the time they’re in (e.g past,present,future). The story abruptly ended and I was left hanging. It would be really superb if the story flow would be fixed and elaborated more giving more details.

Katie Li’s debut novel Somewhere in Between shows us the reality of life. As you read the cover and designs are so much related to the story itself. If you read between the lines you’ll know it. I recommend it to someone who has the guts to read this book carefully and decipher it’s meaning. This is not a light read everyone. I’m looking forward to the next one. But nevertheless, Somewhere in Between deserves this rating.


rating_1

Follow Katie Li       Somewhere in Between

      

Leave a Reply

