Sweet Liar by Debra Doxer [Book Review]

Sweet Liar by Dcoverebra Doxer

Release Date: October 20, 2015

Genre: Young Adult | Romance | Mystery | Contemporary Romance


synopsis


Sometimes lies are sweeter than the truth.

Beauty is alluring; it can disguise the ugliness beneath. But scarred beauty is even more potent to a girl who vowed never to let her heart be broken again. It was an easy vow for Candy to keep until she met Jonah, an arrogant boy with a face that would be too perfect if not for the scar that marred the skin beside his eye.

That imperfect boy earned her trust and won her heart, but the ties that bind people together are fragile, especially when lies are told. Trust is also fragile, and once broken, doesn’t heal like a heart. Trust has to be earned again, and Jonah desperately wants Candy’s trust back.

But Candy has more than Jonah to worry about. Her father is in trouble, and she intends to help him whether he likes it or not. People tell her he’s a bad man, and that may be true, but he’s not all bad. Deep down, she understands his brand of badness because she’s so much like him.

When Candy finally learns the truth, she’ll have to grow up fast, let go of old grievances, and realize that being vulnerable doesn’t make her weak. In fact, opening herself up may be the very thing that makes her whole again.

review

“I would like to thank Net Galley for sending me an ARC of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”

 

Honestly I have read this without reading the first book. But for sure I’ll give it a shot after reading all the books off my TBR list.

Here’s Sebastian Seaborne, Candy’s Father. He’s so secretive. But he did it for the only love one that   he has. A father that would do anything for his family. He doesn’t care about what could happen to him as long as his family is safe. A selfless love indeed.

The fragile but strong daughter Candace Seaborne. We know her as Candy. She’s so strong willed but weak when it comes to her body. Deceived by the man she loves, she vows t never fall inlove again but for how long? Desperate to help her father and Theo, she takes the risk to save her  love ones.

Lastly Cooper Jonah Severance. We know him as Jonah. The guy that do things in secret just to make Candy happy. He always vanishes into thin air and always making it a point that by the time he comes back, Candy will be genuinely smiling. But precaution, he’s a mysterious guy. I can’t get in his head.

Every page unveils a mystery little by little that will make you read it till the last page. After heading a particular scene, I kept reading I was starting to get hooked. The real personality of each characters was slowly unveiling. One of them is showing it when he’s/she’s in an emotional state making his guard down.

I love how the characters makes effort to get back what he once had. They have their own ways to protect what was left so they won’t go through that same pain that almost killed them again. This book also made us feel how important it is to have someone you can trust by your side.

Here are some of my favorite lines in the book. I would give some to fish you and make you read (hopefully). :

I know you don’t believe me, but I wish I could’ve been honest with you. – Cooper Jonah Severance

I already feel like you’re mine. All I want to do is take care of you. – Cooper Jonah Severance

I never lied about my feelings for you.  That’s a line that I wouldn’t cross, and if you were being honest with yourself, you’d admit you believe at least that much about me. – Cooper Jonah Severance

But I wouldn’t do it. I wasn’t about to start some fake relationship with you. You may have noticed I wasn’t exactly friendly at first. But things changed. My feelings changed and when it did, it was about you and me and nothing else. – Cooper Jonah Severance

What big picture are you talking about ? No one cares about the big picture. We all see our own small piece, and when you put those pieces together, they’re what make up the big picture. There’s no big picture without all those pixels. When you’re gone, my picture will never look the same, It will always be incomplete. It will always be missing you. – Candace Seaborne

Just because you stopped caring about me doesn’t mean I stopped caring about you. I know it was juvenile, but I’m losing you and I don’t know what to do about it. -Cooper Jonah Severance

“I was falling in love with you before everything went wrong. And I’m still falling.” My fingers stopped moving. Jonah smiled gently. “Even thought there’s a good chance you’re going to break my heart, I want you to know it’s yours.” – Candace Seaborne

I was shocked when the book ended. I felt like “What happened?!” It was like the drama kept going on and then stop. It was getting good then boom! Ughhh,,, I wish it didn’t ended up like that. *sniff sniff

I just hate how Candy prolongs her trust issues with Jonah. The reason doesn’t justifies Jonah’s mistake to her. I don’t really understand why Victor wants Sebastian be gone for good. Maybe if I read Like Candy I’ll know. Also the first part of the book is dragging too long. When I made it to the middle where the climax is starting to build up, that’s when I kept going on reading. I would rate this 3 stars but they still made me read it till the end that’s why I decided to give it a 4 Sweet Stars!


rating_1

Follow Debra Doxer       Sweet Liar

          

Leave a Reply

