The Awakened by Sara Elizabeth Santana Blog Tour [Spotlight + Interview + Giveaway]

the awakened poster

 

Everyone Hi! Thank you for still following my blog. I love it every time a new follower pops in my email. So today I’m on Sara’s Blog Tour schedule for her Debut Novel “The Awakened”. I’m so grateful for signing up for this. Its worth it and fun to help authors for this events. I love to help them so people can know about their books too and not just about those popular ones. This was released last December 1, 2015. Here’s the cover and the synopsis for your perusal.

Official Awakened Cover

The Awakened by Sara Elizabeth Santana

Release Date: December 1, 2015

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Post Apocalyptic


synopsis


Zoey Valentine is concerned with two things: surviving the multitude of self-defense classes her dad makes her take and avoiding Ash Matthews.
That is, until the Z virus hits, wiping out a third of the population in a matter of weeks. If that weren’t frightening enough, the bodies of the victims disappear and suddenly reappear, awakened from their dead state. They’re faster, smarter, and they work together to get the one thing they crave, human flesh.

The United States is in a panic and then the government decides the unthinkable: to bomb every major city overrun with the awakened.

Now Zoey is on the run, with her dad and Ash, desperate to find a place of safety amongst the ruined remains of the country.

Add it now to Goodreads and purchase a copy from Amazon. Also when you purchase your copy either in Kindle or Paperback(which is now available since the release was a few days ago), you’ll get a signed bookmark for free free free freeeeeee! Everything for free  is always a delight for bookworms, I feel you. ❤ Before I forgot to get the free bookmark send your proof of purchase. I think a screen shot of your purchase would be really good or the link of your purchase. I don’t know but send her something to know you’ve purchased it. Include your name and address and send it to sesantanawrites@gmail.com . 😀

goodreadsAmazon

about the author

Official Author Photo  Sara Elizabeth Santana is a young adult and new adult fiction writer.

She has worked as a smoothie artist, Disneyland cast member, restaurant supervisor, nanny, photographer, pizza delivery driver and barista but writing is what she loves most.

Her first story was written at age nine. She runs her own nerd girl/book review blog, What A Nerd Girl Says. Her favorite books are a tie between Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling and Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce.

She lives in Southern California with her dad, five siblings and two dogs. Her debut novel is The Awakened.

Her website is http://sesantanawrites.com/ . ❤ ❤ ❤

 

So this is my first ever Author Interview! You know that I’m new to the book blogging world and I’m still having my many firsts here. First review, Tour, read in a genre etc. So yep. This is it! I had fun reading her answers. I can’t explain how happy I am to receive the answers to my questions for the interview. Because of that I’m giddy to ask some authors to be interviewed in the future too!

interview

 

  1. What made you write your debut novel? How long it took you to finish the first version?

There were several factors that went into writing The Awakened. First, I did a VERY brief writing group online with some people. I would come up with a prompt of some sort and then we would all write something short and share it with each other. It was fun but hard to keep up with. But one of the ones I came up with started with a zombie. And I had writing the short thing that I wrote and that eventually became a scene in my book…though it did change. I also watched The Walking Dead at the time and I was frustrated with the show at the time and I just didn’t think there was anything scary about a slow moving, unintelligent monster…what if we made them smarter and faster?

Its hard to really tell. I usually start new drafts as I write. When I finished The Awakened I was on my tenth draft but it was the first full version I had written. So…its hard to say. But in total, it took me about 9 months to finish the entire book and an addition 3-4 months to edit and rewrite it.

  1. Any novels that inspired The Awakened?

Definitely. Two huge ones that I constantly quote are The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey and Alienated by Melissa Landers. They didn’t directly inspire my book but they definitely definitely influenced. I liked both of their abilities to blend science fiction with real life and with romance, since I’m a sucker for romances. I also give a lot of credit to Jessica Brody’s Unremembered series and Jennifer L Armentrout’s Covenant series.

  1. What can you tell us about what you are working on for the future? Any sneak peek that we your readers would make us anticipate the next big thing?

Oooh well. This past summer I finished my fifth novel, Benched, which is vastly different from The Awakened. Benched is much shorter, new adult and definitely heavy romance. I’m working on editing that and seeing what I can do with that book.

Right now, I’m working on the sequel to The Awakened and the sequel to Benched. I can’t say much about The Awakened 2, not even the title, but I can say that once you’ve reached the end of the first book, you’re going to be dying for the second book. And I think that there are some characters people are SUPER going to love and drama and kissing and its going to be great!

  1. Do you plan on writing another new genre aside from your debut novel genre?

Definitely! Like I said above, I wrote a new adult romance over the summer. Its funny because romance and contemporary is usually what I write. I’ve always felt very confident in my abilities to write a good romance. The Awakened seems like a fluke to me haha! But I definitely want to continue writing YA science fiction…and also romance. The great thing about YA is that you don’t feel like you have to stick to one genre. You can explore them all and that’s awesome.

  1. Writing the novel is sure pretty hard and rejections from other publishers too. How did you overcome those? Any tips for those who aspires to be an author like you?

Its hard. Its very very very hard. I will not sit here and tell any aspiring author that it is not hard because it definitely is. And its definitely something that you have to really want and really work hard for. But it pays off. Around the time that I was beginning to query for The Awakened, I was learning all I could about it, getting advice and all that. Fast forward about…four or five months later and the rejections were piling up and it was heartbreaking. But then James Dashner told me that every time you got a rejection, you should celebrate. Because it meant that you were on the right path. You were doing the right thing. Jessica Brody told me that you have this number…you may get rejected 84 times but 85 is your number. And every single time you get rejected, you’re closer to pulling up your number. I just had to remember that.

My biggest advice is one that I’ll repeat over and over again. Don’t give up. Work hard. Don’t let anyone – and I mean, ANYONE – tell you that you can’t do it.

  1. Lastly I would want to know who is your fictional crush and why?

Ah. This question is so hard because I read SO much. One of my biggest ones PERIOD is Jace from The Mortal Instruments series. He is always the first that comes to mind. Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy. Jase Winstead from Be with Me by JLA. Han Solo. Castiel. I have a massive crush on my own Ash. Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle.

I literally could go on for ages.

 

To Sara, thank you so much for including me in this tour and I had fun interviewing to you. 🙂 I mean it (*hugs)

 

giveaway

This is the excited part (the same goes with me) – GIVEAWAY. I’m a giveaway sucker if you know people. I love to enter and try my luck! 🙂 Sara prepared a gift for us because of her Debut Novel. Enter so you can have the chance to win it all.

Giveaway Graphic

Details:

  • Starts November 26th and ends December 12, 2015 .
  •  Prizes will be shipped AFTER Christmas.
  • Available internationally.

So here are the prizes: 

  • One Grand Prize Winner – Signed Copy of The Awakened, Signed Exclusive Poster, Signed Bookmark.
  • One First Place Winner – Signed Poster and Signed Bookmark.
  • Two Second Place Winners – A Kindle Edition of The Awakened and a Signed Bookmark.

 

 

The Rafflecopter is right down below so there follow all to get the maximum points. Click the link below to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

blog sched

Check out the entire tour for more information about the book, interviews, guest posts, excerpts and more!

November 26th: Reading and Reviews / What A Nerd Girl Says

November 27th:  Living Within Fiction

November 28th: Lisa of Literature / Seeking Bazinga

November 29th: Chloe’s Book Nook / Book and Movies Addict

November 30th: Tine’s Reviews / Escape from Realities

December 1st: What A Nerd Girl Says / The Book Academy / Bookish Wonderland

December 2nd: Recently Acquired Obsessions / Morgan Reads

December 3rd: Case Maynard, Author / Movies, Shows and Books

December 4thBout of Bibliophilia

December 5th: Tesairie’s Book Reads / iFandoms Collide

December 6th: Just One of Those Bibliophiles / A Traveling Book / Endlessly Readings

December 7th: My Life in Blog / Erin Rhew Books

December 8th: Metamorphic Books / Knightingale Reviews

December 9th: Reading Over Sleeping / Always and Forever Fangirl

 

//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

