True Love by Melissa Pearl [Book Review]

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00063]

True Love (Songbird #5) by Melissa Pearl

Release Date: November 18, 2015

Genre: Romance | Contemporary Romance | Music | New Adult


synopsis

 

 


One night can change everything…

Nessa Sloan has been in love with Jimmy Baker since the ninth grade when they started up a rock band together. Five years later they’re about to hit the big time—Chaos wins a recording contract and nation-wide tour with Torrence Records. After their celebration party, the two best friends have a one-night stand that will tear their relationship apart.

On the run from Jimmy’s rejection, Nessa takes off on her motorbike, but an accident brings her escape to a tragic end. Now trapped in a broken body, Nessa has to face a future stripped of the one thing that’s gotten her through every past challenge—playing the drums.

Jimmy never meant to break his best friend’s heart, and he will forever regret taking her to bed then treating her like one of his groupies. But once he’d crossed that line, he couldn’t go back. Now Jimmy is on a mission to do something he’s never done before—win a girl over.

Angry and confused by her new disability, Nessa doesn’t want Jimmy’s help. But she has nobody else to rely on…and his pigheaded ass won’t leave her alone. Can these two stubborn hearts get past their own insecurities to figure out what true love really looks like? Or will they drive each other crazy before they finally see the truth?

It’s infuriating, irresistible, and all-consuming…it’s true love.

review

“I would like to thank Melissa Pearl for sending me an ARC of this book. I reviewed it honestly just liked I promised.”

I guess this is the second novel I have read with music as their theme. I rarely read novels like this because Music is so special to me and this novel made it to my heart.

The two lovers Nessa and Jimmy has this hot and cold relationship. I know they just want to end the war and make love. Now lets get a peek to their love hate relationship ride ❤ ❤ <3.

So meet our damsel but not in so much distress – Vanessa Charlotte Sloan and popularly known as Nessa of the band Chaos. Our hot chick is a rockstar when it comes to playing the drums. Not to mention that her relationship to Jimmy Baker the band leader is now on oblivion thanks to that one drunken night.

It’s so easy to look back on your life and wonder, “What if?” If only we could take back what we’d done, but the past was sealed and no amount of wishing would change that.” – Nessa Sloan

Now our poor princess is so sad (*hugs Nessa). Every girl with a broken heart needs to cut some slack. A displacement so all the sadness that eats her heart will disappear into thin air.

I don’t know what possessed me, but the bartender and I burned photos of the people who’d broken us. Jimmy’s straight nose and bright blue eyes bubbled and twisted, his pouty lips that tasted so damn good started to split and melt away… just like I needed them too. I thought it would help me., but I’d been fighting tears ever since. – Nessa Sloan

Jimmy Baker now realizes what he had lost is now determined to win her back. We always know when realization gets to us it always hits hard straight to our naive hearts(*me: groans.. *blood spilling).

I was nothing without her. If only I hadn’t been so scared to believe. – Jimmy Baker

And our hero receives rejection. But if that’s a little step towards her, he’ll accept it. Everything is always worth something right? The road towards being a good guy is new to our Jimmy bae (*pats Jimmy. It’s okay pal. I’ll cry with you. 😥 ).

Her words stung like a bitch. I shrugged my shoulders and went for nonplussed, but inside I was raging. She did need me, damn it. She just didn’t want to admit it. – Jimmy Baker

Will they be able to get what their hearts desperately wants?These two faced many ups and downs towards each other that made their lives difficult. Those elements made me love this book. The very thing I always sought to Contemporary Romance is the life lessons they offer to their readers. But I would also say that I hate the two characters at the same time because they always assume that the other hates him or her. Why can’t they just say it all and get together already?! Sometimes they’re too dumb when it is so obvious. In the verge of loosing the other comes the realization. They’re near then one of them screws it up. I want to go and yell to them but sadly they’re only fictional. So just kiss already ok!

I definitely will try to read the other Songbird Novels!


rating_1

Follow Author Melissa Pearl      True Love

                        

3 thoughts on “True Love by Melissa Pearl [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

